The beers here

I remember the weekly beer deliveries we got at Korat RTAFB. They came in a C-141 and then were delivered to the Sawadee Club, NCO Club and Officers Club. We waved at the tractor driver as he drove the shipment to the various clubs.

I remember cold beer was 10 cents a can at the swimming pool and we had a pretty generous ration card too for beer, wine and the hard stuff.

I remember a weekly or bi-weekly delivery of the hard stuff from Bangkok too. Came in a semi-truck as I remember it.

I drank my share too. Now I drink very little or none thanks to age and the prescriptions I’m on. We were young then and doing our part to fight a war in a far off land like many men and women today.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

